European Union

European Union Immigration


The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union made up from 27 European states. Members of these countries, with possible exception of Croatia have the right to free movement and trade across EU countries, which means they are able to reside as well and perform work within any EU state. The nationals from Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein even though they are not part of the EU are able to enjoy the same rights due to their membership of the European Economic Area (EEA).

In addition, Switzerland has signed many bilateral agreements on trade and migration with the EU that permit Swiss citizens are able to move between EU states as if they were an EU member.

The reality is that Croatian residents will still be subject to some limitations on their right to reside and work in certain EU states until 2020. Check out the European Union immigration for EU Nationals section for additional information.



The EU immigration guide includes two sections:

  • European Union immigration for EU Nationals: information for EU citizens who want to move to an EU country, with suggestions regarding the transfer of family members, social security and taxation as well as rights in employment.
  • European Union Immigration for non-EU nationals Information on two EU-wide Visas that include the Schengen Visa and the European Blue Card